Posted by: Mary Crocco | May 31, 2011

“Can’t you just take off one day mom?”

Bob went on-line and looked up CML. We read a lot of information together and tried to comprehend what was going on. We read the brochure the doctor gave me a few times and we talked about the biopsy on Monday.

“I’m going with you on Monday Mom, and I know Rich will too.”

“I know Bob.”

I gave him a big hug and we cried some more.

Let’s call Rich, he should be home now.”

I picked up the phone, “Hi Rich, how was work?”

“Good. What did the doctor say?”

“I have leukemia.”

“Jesus Christ!”

I explained to Rich what I knew about CML and what Bob and I read online.

“I’ll be right over, Mom.”

“Rich, I’m just going to take a bath and go to bed. Tomorrow will be better. There’s nothing we can do tonight and I am just reeling.”

“Well, I’ll come over tomorrow and me and Bob are going to take you to the biopsy on Monday.”

“Yeah, that will be great. Don’t worry, I’ll see you tomorrow, okay?”

“Are you going to work tomorrow, mom?”

“Sure, I’m fine. I’ll have the prescription in a couple of days and I’ll be fine.”

“Can’t you just take off one day mom?”

“No, I’ve never planned for a day off, so I am not prepared for it. But it’s no big deal. I am fine. I’ll see you tomorrow and we can all talk, okay?”

“Okay, I guess. Talk to you tomorrow. Love you.”

“Love you too.”

So I took a bath and afterwards Bob made some pasta for the two of us. We talked some more and I went to bed.

The phone rang and I heard Bob talking. I could tell he was talking to Rich. Bob peeked in my room.

“Mom, are you up? He whispered.

“Yeah, what’s wrong?”

“Nothing, Rich is on the phone and he found some stuff about CML.”

I got up and took the phone from Bob.  “Rich, what did you find?”

“Mom, it really looks good with that drug Gleevec you told me about. And I bet they find a cure before five years.”

“Anything is possible, you’re right.”

“Okay, I’ll see you tomorrow, mom. I still think you should take the day off tomorrow.”

“I have to take off Monday remember. I feel better planning for a day off. I have no lessons for a substitute. I would be thinking all day about my students wasting time, so I just can’t. I’m fine, Rich, don’t worry okay?”

“Okay, have a good sleep.”

“You too, here’s Bobby.”

I kissed Bob good night again. I heard him on the phone for a while as his voice soothed me to sleep.

Leave a Reply

Categories

