Posted by: Mary Crocco | June 12, 2012

So, I took my son’s first album title to heart, ‘We Are The Blues We Write.’

June 12, 2012

I’m a bit late writing my blog. May was quite a busy month.

In my previous blog, I talked about visiting my mother for two weeks. All I’m going to say is I did the best I could and I feel I left her in better shape than when I arrived. It took me over a week to recuperate which is why I’m late writing my blog.

Reading, writing book reviews, and catching up on paperwork was all I could manage. Besides Living with CML and the side effects from Gleevec, I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia and started a new prescription. I’ve already been back to my rheumatologist, and she changed the dosage. I also must have lab work every two weeks to monitor my liver because this new drug plus Gleevec and other drugs I take must be monitored.

Visiting the ear doctor for my perforated ear drum was needed to see if it closed on its own. It did not. The doctor thinks it would be best to close it with surgery. I said no; let’s see if it will close itself. But since that visit where he cleaned my ear, whenever I wash my hair, even with cotton and Vaseline, or anyone speaks loudly, my ear hurts.

I’m afraid to go back in the pool where I exercise for fear of getting water in my ear. It could lead to infections or worse. Doctors have told me to use precautions, of course, but if it hurts when I wash my hair, I’m afraid to go in the pool.

I miss the pool tremendously. My arthritis suffers and I stiffen up and have more cramps. So, I took my son’s first album title to heart, ‘We Are The Blues We Write.’ I could either feel sorry for myself or do something about it.

So I did something about it. Today I went to the Las Vegas Athletic Club, where I swim, and just walked the track for 30 minutes. At least I’m exercising. My knees are killing me right now, but I’m hoping it is temporary. I did call and made an appointment with the ear doctor to discuss surgery. The appointment is July 9th.

I also started a Creative Writing class. It’s once a week from 6-9 p.m. The first class was great and I’m looking forward to the next class. Hopefully the instructor won’t ask me if I am okay this time. I was so tired, but I didn’t want to miss the first night. I was so embarrassed when he asked. I got lost on the way home and it took an hour to get home vs. 20 minutes!

May 7th was my birthday. My son, Bob, took me to dinner. It was delicious!

I spent a few days in Sparks to see my grandson. As always it was wonderful! It was Mother’s Day weekend. My son and his wife went to a concert in San Francisco, so I got to spend time with my grandson by myself. I love that! We had a great time.

So June will be filled with one doctor visit, (I hope), a couple of lab visits, my new writing class, and walking at the gym for 30 minutes. I will try to walk daily. I might not be able to tomorrow because my knees hurt, but I hope to work up to it quickly.

My grandson will be one year old on June 25th, so I’ll be going to Sparks for four days. I did write a book for his birthday and I’m very pleased with the outcome! This is the second book I wrote for him. It’s not a published book, but from blurb.com.

Thank you for reading! I welcome any comments on my blog! 

Have a great month!

Mary

Responses

  1. Hey Mary! I finally looked you up here and am sorry to see/hear about all your new trials. I hope things begin to get better for you real soon. Your attitude is good, though and that always helps. Take care, my friend and we’ll chat again, soon.

    • Hi Judy,

      Thanks for reading my blog! Life goes on, chin up and all. 😄
      Hope you are well and happy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

