Posted by: Mary Crocco | November 1, 2012

I dodged a bullet there.

I had my blood work on October 1st and the results from my oncologist appointment on October 15th. I’m very happy to report my CML is still under control. Great news!

Every six months, since 2003, I have to wait to hear if Gleevec is doing its job. It’s stressful to think that at any day I could go from my chronic myeloid leukemia being under control, to a full blast acute leukemia. It’s stressful Living with CML, but it’s something I have learned to deal with.

I did something I’ve never done before this month. I won’t go into all the details for my reason, but when I went to Long Island to visit my mother, I left early. I scheduled my visit for a week, but I only stayed for three days. This visit was toxic for me, and I put my emotional and physical health first. I have always stayed and suffered through it, but not this time.

Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t leave my mother in bad shape, she was better this visit than my last visit six months ago. I love her and tried to help her as always, but I was met with more than the usual resistance. I realized it wasn’t a good place for me to be. So I changed my flight and came home. Both my brothers are there for her daily, plus her nurse, and it seems I disrupt the dynamics. I understood this clearly for the first time.

I’ve talked to my mother since I’ve been home, and all is fine. Of course when Super Storm Sandy hit the east coast, I was grateful I was home in Nevada before all the flights were canceled. I dodged a bullet there.

I’ve had really bad arthritis pain in my hip/back and legs this month. I dreaded the four flights I had to take, hence asking for a stronger pain killer. I was relieved when the pills worked, and the flights were bearable. Seems my arthritis is getting worse, but November 7th is my ENT appointment for my perforated ear drum. I fully expect to be cleared to go back to the therapy pool. To be honest, if my ear is not healed, I’m going anyway. I need the pool, it helps my arthritis tremendously. It’s been seven months dealing with this ear problem, and I won’t let it keep me from the therapy pool for one more day.

I’ve been reading up on arthritis and have learned that emotional stress can bring on flares. Awareness is the key, so I’m going to try to keep my stress to a minimum. Easier said than done, but I have to try.

My cramps have been limited to my hands and sides, so that’s a bonus this month. My other side effects from Gleevec have been minimal; it seems my arthritis is what has progressed. But knowing the pool is only a week away is helping me cope.

It took a week for my head to clear, after my visit to my mother’s, and other things that upset me, where I could get back to writing my novel. I’ve always said emotional hell is worse than the physical, I will always believe this.

Thank you to my Twitter followers who take the time to read my Living with CML blog. As always, I really appreciate it. Comments welcomed!

Next month should be the best – back to my liquid paradise!  And my family will all be here for Thanksgiving!

I wish my readers a very Happy Thanksgiving! 

Mary

Leave a Reply

Categories

