Posted by: Mary Crocco | January 1, 2013

Xmas-2012-006.jpg

Look at this beautiful Xmas dinner presentation Cherie cooked up for her family! It was delicious. Alex is 18 months old and the only toddler I know who loves Brussels sprouts!

I only had one doctor visit this month. I saw my rheumatologist for a follow up on blood work. It happens that my liver count went up, so I have to take a lower dose of a medication. I asked the doctor if I needed to be on this certain RX for the rest of my life, like I do with Gleevec. (Gleevec is my oral chemo which keeps me alive.) She said absolutely not, we are just trying to get my fibromyalgia under control.

I told her the good and bad news from my ENT doctor. The bad news was my ear didn’t heal and would need surgery, or I could hope for the best with custom made ear plugs. Of course I told her I would never have surgery if not absolutely necessary. The good news was I had the ear plugs made and I’m back in the therapy pool! I know this will help with all supplement medications I take for arthritis, fibromyalgia, and Gleevec cramps and side effects. Hooray!

My dry eye medication is working great, so I cancelled my appointment in December and made it for January. The doctor had said follow up in 1-2 months, so I was doing so well I figured I’ll wait a month.

So I’m ready for the New Year with anticipation of not having my ear bring me any problems, so I can go to the pool often. I’m also anticipating less pain from being able to exercise in the warm therapy pool!

A Xmas gift I received was for Merry Maids to clean my house! The best gift ever! I am making a goal for 2013 to organize my closets, since I will start with a clean home! LOL

My son is going to help me with the boxes I have stored, as I can’t do it alone. I ordered the space saver bags, I sure hope they work! I called Goodwill and they will pick up some big items taking up space that I don’t need.

Normally, before Living with CML, I would do this in a month, myself. But it will take a lot longer and I need help. But before Gleevec, I wouldn’t even be here to do this at all.

So Happy New Year to anyone who reads my blog, and I wish you all the best of happiness and health.

Responses

  1. I am so delighted to see that you are still positive and setting goals. After I was diagnosed with CML I realised that many things had to change in my life but that it was my choice as to what my attitude towards it would be. So I manage the medical issues and I try to keep positive. It is very frustrating not being able to do things the way you used to but its a compromise we have to make to survive.

    Stay positive and keep posting your blogs.

  2. Thank you Charmaine! I sent you an email. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

