Posted by: Mary Crocco | March 3, 2013

Don’t think I’ll be getting a flu shot ever again!

flu-shot

Living with CML
March, 2013

Don’t think I’ll be getting a flu shot ever again!

My last entry was in December. I had a guest blogger for January, which is one of the reasons I didn’t write that month. The other was because both January and February I wasn’t feeling my best at all.

January began with the flu scare. Everyone was being urged to get the flu shot. I had never listened to the medical experts before, but for some reason, this year seemed like it was worse, so I got a flu shot on Jan. 14th. I did call my oncologist first and ask if he recommended I get it. I also asked my primary doctor and both said I should. I was fine for a couple of weeks after the shot, going to the pool for my arthritis therapy and all. But on the third week, things went downhill.

I was extremely nauseous and sick to my stomach every other day. It progressed to every single day, then back to every other day. I’m used to my CML medication, Gleevec, making me nauseous, but this was so much more intense. Believe it or not, I felt terrible and suffered all through February. The last time I felt ill was exactly the last day of February.

I had a sore throat the last week of Jan. so I went to see my doctor. She said it was a good thing I came in as I had a viral infection on the roof of my mouth and a bacterial infection in my throat. SIGH. New meds and I felt much better, in my mouth anyway, as being nauseous and sick lasted throughout Feb.

Don’t think I’ll be getting a flu shot ever again!

I had set up a flight months ago to Reno, to watch my grandson, while my son and daughter-in-law went away for the weekend, on the second week of Feb. I managed to go and was fine most of the time, but did get sick twice. Luckily, it didn’t affect my time with my grandson as it was after his bedtime.

A visit to the eye doctor resulted in only a minimal improvement in my dry eye. The doctor doesn’t want to give me Restasis because I had shingles in my eye a few years ago, and he isn’t sure if Gleevec will interact badly with it. So I’ll continue with the OTC drops until my appointment on March 6th.

So, once again, I couldn’t go to the pool. The last time was Jan. 17th. I hope my stomach calms down long enough so I feel comfortable enough to get back into the pool.

My hand cramps have been more intense these past couple of months too. I ordered a lap pillow to hold my iPad and Kindle because it kills me to hold them myself. I just received it yesterday and it really works great! Typing was also harder than usual. I use the Dragon Program, but I still have to type to edit, but it helps somewhat.

I’ll have blood drawn again and a rheumatologist appointment on March 18th. I’m going to suggest going off a medication the doctor prescribed. I’m so sick of pills.

So, this was my Living with CML for January and February. It sure wasn’t pretty, but it’s the way it is. I still feel lucky and grateful to be alive because of Gleevec, side effects and all. Not to have to have traditional chemo vs. a pill is a plus to me.

Thank you for anyone who reads my blog, I do appreciate it.

Responses

  1. My spouse and I stumbled over here different web page
    and thought I might as well check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to exploring your web page yet again.

    • I’m so glad you stumbled upon my blog, and I’m thrilled you have decided to follow!
      Some of the best books I’ve read were the result of stumbling upon!
      So, welcome Meghan and your spouse!


Leave a Reply

Categories

