Posted by: Mary Crocco | December 3, 2013

November was a success!

2013-11-28 16.40.49

December 1, 2013

November was a success!

Today is Dec. 3rd and I’m feeling rested enough to write. My trip to Rapid City, SD was productive. The firsthand knowledge gathered for my novel resulted in a major rewrite and a new perspective. I managed to complete my research; booking a hotel on Main Street helped preserve my energy and provide a place to rest in between scheduled visits to planned locations.

Living with CML didn’t prevent me from enjoying the four day trip. Sure, I was exhausted, but my son helped along the way. If it wasn’t for him driving around to my book’s sites, I never would have been able to complete the visits. He even secured a wheelchair at an unexpected trip to Mount Rushmore. My osteoarthritis was a challenge, and my knees took a beating, but I did it, I accomplished everything I needed to and more. The weather cooperated with sunny days in the sixties, a fluke much appreciated, and the reason I was able to get so much done.

Early in the month, I attended two writing workshops. I missed the Las Vegas Writer’s Group meeting because it was too soon after my trip and I lacked energy. However, I did attend my writing critique group a week later.

It took a week to recuperate after returning home, just in time for Thanksgiving. Cooking the holiday meal and enjoying time with my family kept me busy.

An appointment with my ophthalmologist was the only doctor appointment all month! Yay! The doctor examined my perforated ear drum reporting it healing. His prognosis was it would close and heal on its own within the next six months. Great news!

I was apprehensive how I would handle the trip to SD, and I’m still thrilled it was a success. My son, Bobby, http://bobbymeadermusic.com/, is editing the footage he took for a blog I’ll create to promote my book, once it’s published.

December’s challenge is Xmas. I’ll be going to Reno with Bobby, a short flight from Las Vegas, to spend the holiday and a few days with my son and his family. It will be fun as my grandson is two and a half years old. 🙂

A dental cleaning is the only doctor appointment for the month. Yay! I’ll attend one writing workshop; I will not attend the LV Writer’s Group party.

Plenty of rest should take me through December. I hope to make it to the athletic club to exercise in the therapy pool. My sleep pattern has been preventing me from going because I’ve been in bed earlier than usual. I prefer to go at midnight when it’s least crowded. I’m trying to work on building up enough energy to get back to my midnight swim.

I’m sharing this interesting Facebook post. It was nice to see these tips in writing.
http://creativitysworkshop.com/2013/10/23/6-tips-for-writing-with-a-chronic-illness/

Thank you for reading. See you in 2014.
Mary

Responses

  1. Wow. You’ve certainly had a busy and productive month! Congratulations on getting all that research done. You’re a real inspiration.

    Thanks for mentioning my post. 🙂

    I hope this month goes as well for you as November did.

  2. Thank you for reading and commenting, Jessica. 🙂
    I appreciate your thoughts for December!


Leave a Reply

Categories

