Posted by: Mary Crocco | June 29, 2015

Scary!!!!

11854290-vector-illustration-of-travel-girl-at-the-airport

I left a piece of luggage behind on my Southwest Airlines flight over the weekend. Inside was my Gleevec prescription. Taking this oral chemo pill daily is vital to me, and others suffering with CML, Chronic Myeloid Leukemia.

I realized the bag was missing after arriving at my son’s home. The bag was untagged, so I didn’t think I’d ever see it. At first, I wasn’t sure I left it on the plane. I thought maybe I left it in the airport’s restroom. Courteous SW employees communicated with me by phone and led me to Tipper and Lily in Baggage Service who worked magic to ensure I received my lifesaving bag.

It was quite a scare for eight long hours. I am so impressed with the outstanding customer service I received from Southwest Airlines. I anticipated returning home that night because I can’t miss the daily dose of Gleevec. Thanks to SW, I was able to celebrate my grandson’s fourth birthday celebration.

Relieved and grateful is how I felt returning home from a great weekend that could have turned out a disaster.

This Friday I leave for Long Island, NY to visit my mother in the hospital. I will be more careful!

Thank you for reading. I’d love to hear from you, so feel free to leave a comment.

Mary

Responses

  1. I never put any meds in a checked suitcase. Too expensive to lose and too risky! Also, you can always get your Dr. to refill in an emergency…happy travels!

    • Hi Roberta,

      I don’t check my meds either. It was a carry on. I had the RX at home, hence thinking I needed to return home immediately. Thanks to SW I could stay in Reno. 🙂

      Thanks for commenting!

      Mary

  2. I understand that cold sweat feeling. I now put a few pills in my purse just in case. So glad things worked out

    • Hi Cheryl,
      I thought I had put extras in my
      purse. Nearly died when I looked and found none! Chemo brain is all too real.
      Thanks for your kind wishes.

  3. Phew, glad it all worked out okay. Must’ve been quite a relief.

    • Thank you! It sure was a relief!

  4. Phew!!!! Now enjoy the rest of your trip. 🙂

    • Home yesterday. Getting ready for NY trip Friday. 😱

  5. Mary, thank God you got the bag back. What a scare….I hope your trip back East is less eventful and that your mother recovers. Take good care, my friend.


Leave a Reply

Categories

